Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl

6304335Title: Beautiful Creatures

Series: Caster Chronicles, Book 1

Author: Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl

Published: December 1st 2009, Little, Brown and Company

Genre: Fantasy, Romance

Age group: Young Adult

Rating: ★ ★ ★ ★

Beautiful Creatures (Caster Chronicles, #1)

Summary:

Lena Duchannes is unlike anyone the small Southern town of Gatlin has ever seen, and she’s struggling to conceal her power, and a curse that has haunted her family for generations. But even within the overgrown gardens, murky swamps and crumbling graveyards of the forgotten South, a secret cannot stay hidden forever.
Ethan Wate, who has been counting the months until he can escape from Gatlin, is haunted by dreams of a beautiful girl he has never met. WhenLena moves into the town’s oldest and most infamous plantation, Ethan is inexplicably drawn to her and determined to uncover the connection between them.
In a town with no surprises, one secret could change everything.

Review:

This book would have never come to my attention if it wasn’t for the movie trailer of it I once saw. As a fan of ‘Harry Potter’, I like anything about magic or fantasy. So the trailer and the book summary promised a very mysterious and unique story, so that I wasn’t even put off by its length.

‘Beautiful Creatures’ is a story about 16-year-old Ethan. He leaves in a small Southern town Gatlin, where nothing ever happens. But for some time Ethan has been having the same dream about a girl he doesn’t know. So when this girl suddenly appears in flash as a new student in his school, Ethan is intrigued both by her identity and the meaning of this dream.

But the girl, Lena, is different from anyone Ethan knows. She is the niece of the town’s shut-in Macon Ravenwood, and her whole family is a mystery. While attempting to get to know Lena better, Ethan finds out that she is a Caster, a witch, just like the rest of her family. But Lena’s future is also in a great danger, and Ethan, getting more and more attracted to her, is set to protect her from any harm.

First of all, I want to point out, that ‘Beautiful Creatures’ has many flaws. While it was nice and refreshing to read a YA book written from a boy’s point of view, instead of a girl’s, I couldn’t help but cringe at Ethan’s mind works. He’s just too sensitive and girlish, so I couldn’t picture him in my mind as a strong male figure. I was also put off by his reaction (or lack of it) to finding out about this whole Caster world. He finds out about magic existing in the world and even becomes a witness to it, but it’s like no big deal to him, he is only fixated on Lena.

Lena and Ethan were another case of insta-love, that I just hate to read about. It seemed like there were no character development and get-to-know between these two, aside from them talking about Casters. Sometimes their relationship seemed like an obsession, what with their talking to each other in their minds. Way creepy! But the romance was expected from the very beginning, though I would have loved it to be more developed.

I can’t say much about Lena, as her image is not fully built in my mind. The things I know about her are all told by Ethan, and he mostly spoke about her appearance, her clothes and hair, and her magic. But she seemed like a nice girl determined to use her powers in the right way. I hope the second book in the series will give more features to Lena’s character.

The book also is heavily overstuffed with all this Southern spirituality, and while I liked some of it, like the scene of the Battle Reenactment, I didn’t get the point of it. But I liked that the story was set in a small town, as it gave the story this whole isolated feeling.

But aside from all the flaws, surprisingly for me, I liked the book. What is really great about it, is that despite of its pretty dull characters, the storyline was very strong and intriguing. There were so many mysteries to be uncovered, that the story was read quite easily, despite its length. I was also impressed that the authors managed to create this unique atmosphere of something magical and unknown, that I always felt completely immersed into the story, like I myself was there, in Gatlin, watching it all happen with my own eyes.

I haven’t seen the movie yet, but judging by the trailer, I think it definitely recreates the book’s general atmosphere. While ‘Beautiful Creatures’ is no ‘Harry Potter’, it’s definitely a book worth reading, as it tells a very unique gripping story, which will keep the reader entertained till the very end.

2 comments on “Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl

  1. Adding to my reading list! Thanks.

Leave a Reply

