Top Ten Most Frustrating Characters Ever

toptentuesday1Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week there’s a new topic within which you are to post your Top Ten List. This Tuesday the theme is:

Top Ten Most Frustrating Characters Ever

12925064

1. Evie Claremont (‘Inescapable’ by Amy A. Bartol)

She loves one guy who’s an angel, but risks her life to save another one who’s human and is also her supposed soul mate. This is the most awkward love triangle I’ve ever read about.

12756566

2. Abby Abernathy (‘Beautiful Disaster’ by Jamie McGuire)

She and her relationship with Travis is really a disaster, enough said.

2767052

3. Peeta Mellark (‘The Hunger Games ‘ by Suzanne Collins)

I was constantly annoyed with the way how helpless Peeta was without Katniss. Besides, his never ending attempts to win Katniss over by pretending being a couple for the sake of the show were very confusing, no wonder Katniss took such a long time to finally see him as a possible love interest.

13572249

4. Eva Tramell (‘Bared To You’ by Sylvia Day)

She positioned herself as a strong, opinionated woman in the beginning, but became Gideon’s play toy in the blink of an eye, and never since then she acted like a reasonable, independent woman.

17047128

5. Rush Finlay (‘Fallen Too Far’ by Abbi Glines)

His totally rude behavior towards Blaire is supposed to be excused because he’s just so hot! Oh, and what kind of a name is Rush??

13047090

6. Katy Swartz (‘Onyx’ by Jennifer L. Armentrout)

From the moment she found out that she’d started mutating after having been cured by Daemon, Katy became simply intolerable with her obsessive desire to become the next best Luxen. What about her best friend Dee or Daemon, who she’s in love with? Well they just have to step aside!

227443

7. Mark Darcy (‘Bridget Jones’s Diary’ by Helen Fielding)

He acted rude towards Bridget throughout the whole book, but in the end he admits absolutely out of the blue that he’s just been in love with her, hence the attitude. Well, he’s just lucky that Bridget didn’t get suspicious about it!

9593911

8. Julian Fineman (‘Pandemonium’ by Lauren Oliver)

I wasn’t particularly disappointed with Julian as a character but more with his place in the story, which is being a part of the main love triangle. Well, I’m Team Alex all the way, so Julian better step aside!

13372690

9. Layken Cohen (Slammed by Colleen Hoover)

Layken was so overly emotional and immature most of the time, she was definitely not the type of main character to admire. And again I can’t get over this name!

twilight-graphics-charlie-swan-636438

10. Parents in YA fantasy/paranormal/dystopian books.

I wonder if I’ll ever read a fantasy YA book with the normal parents, the ones to really take part in their children’s lives, and not the ones to disappear every time there’s some dangerous situations their kid (mostly daughter) is involved in with some fantastical creature (who is often portrayed as the hottest guy ever).

P.S. It was really hard for me to come up with this list as I generally like the characters I read about, basically because I read summaries first, and read the book only if the plot appeals to me. And these characters I picked were really frustrating at times, but frankly tolerable enough.

10 comments on “Top Ten Most Frustrating Characters Ever

  1. megan says:

    Your last one is a GREAT pick! It is so rare that you find good parents in a YA book, which makes me very sad.

  2. I agree with Rush. He drove me batty. So what if he was attractive; he was a jerk. Peeta annoyed me too.

    It seems like Abby is making everybody’s list. I haven’t read it and I keep hearing such mixed things about it, but I guess I’ll just have to read it to find out what I think. Thanks for sharing. And you’re so right about the parents.

    Here’s mine

    ~Danica Page@Taking it One Page at a Time

    • Oksana says:

      That’s exactly what made me read Beautiful Disaster in the first place – mixed reviews! There were those who loved it and those who hated it. Guess I’m in the second category 🙂 But you’re right, it’s better to read it and make your own opinion that wondering what this whole fuss is about 🙂

  3. Kay says:

    I agree with you on Peeta. He made my list too. Julian is another good one. I am team Alex! I forgot about that one. Great list!

    My Top Ten

    • Oksana says:

      There were times when I was really annoyed with Peeta. And Julian is OK, but he is not Alex. Thanks for stopping by and communing 🙂

  4. Quinn says:

    Both Abby and Travis made it on my list today. Talk about a train wreck. But I will still read Walking Disaster when it is released 🙂

    And yeah, Katy was definitely frustrating in Onyx.

  5. Jess Schira says:

    You’re absolutely right with your last pick. I’ve read very few YA novels where the parents were realistic. I know I’ve even described a few as books about the worlds worst parents.

    I’d completely forgotten about Beautiful Disaster when I put my list together. That book always strikes me as a little odd, because even though both characters make me roll my eyes and irritate me, I still enjoyed the book, and I know I’ll end up reading Walking Disaster when it comes out.

    I enjoyed your list 🙂

Leave a Reply

