Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Bookish Goals For 2013

toptentuesday1Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week there’s a new topic within which you are to post your Top Ten List. This Tuesday the theme is:

Top Ten Bookish Goals For 2013

1. Read more classics.

Well, this one’s to be expected. I grew up reading classics, first at school, than at the university. But now with all these thousands upon thousands of new books of different genres coming out, classics are on the very bottom of my TBR pile. But I want to change it this year, especially with lots of classical literature being turned into movies now, I think it will be easier and more fun to watch a book first and then compare it to it’s on-screen version.

2. Stop adding practically every book to my TBR list.

This one has to do with my Goodreads addiction. I navigate it every day and add whatever book I find interesting to my to-read list. It’s huge already, I can’t imagine when I will read all this stuff.

3. Read more new-to-me authors

I’m very careful with authors I haven’t read before, but there are authors I know and will love and will read whatever new book they write not even bothering to read the summary. I’d like to broaden my horizons in this point.

4. Read more different genres.

I’m addicted to romance in whatever form it is, and I read it a lot, it’s dominating my reading list. This year I want to read more fantasy stories, adventures, mysteries or detectives.

5. Stop being late to the party

There are so many hugely popular books out there which I for some unknown reason haven’t read yet. But everyone would talk about how great this or that one book is, while I just feel in the dark. I’m just now reading Bridget Jones’ Diary, for crying out loud!

6. Try to care less about a book’s Goodreads rating.

Before reading a book I always check it’s rating and reviews and wouldn’t read a book rated less than 3,50. But it’s so often now when a book being a hit on Goodreads doesn’t have any appeal to me, or vice versa. Everyone has their own preferences, so a rating should not be such a deal breaker.

7. Participate in some reading challenge.

I think it would be fun, why not?

8. Learn to abandon uninteresting books.

 I have always tried to finish every book no matter if I didn’t like it. But now I don’t think it’s worth it. If a book’s plot doesn’t get any better after 60 pages, I don’t see any hope.

9. Finally read Tolkien.

It’s my Everest! I plan to read these books every year, but no result, yet.

10. Stop judging books by their covers.

 Pretty cover is not always a good book, while the one with a plain cover may become my all-time favorite. I have to remember that while navigating Goodreads.

15 comments on “Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Bookish Goals For 2013

  1. Loving these goals for inspirations! I had to laugh at “stop adding every damn book to my TBR”
    – I can so relate!
    Tanya Patrice
    Girlxoxo.com

  2. Tolkien is wonderful. I’m reading The Hobbit this year as well as rereading Lord of the Rings. I wanted to get back into the classics but flirted with the idea until I joined The Clasics Club. That’s made all the difference. Great goals. Have a great year.

    • Oksana says:

      Thank you, Vikk. I wish a great year to you, too. I once started to read LOTR but had to abandon it due to my University exams. I hope I’ll restart reading this year, Tolkien’s writing is amazing!

  3. Oh, I hope you’ll love Tolkien’s books! One of my goals this year is re-reading The Hobbit and LotR! I’m also joining more reading challenges! They’re just so much fun!

    Good luck with reaching your goals!
    My TTT

    • Oksana says:

      Thank you, Helene! For now I’m only participation in the Goodreads challenge to read 60 books this year, I will probably overachieve it)) But I’d love to join some more specific challenge, I think it would be a great motivation.

  4. stuckinva says:

    I think I use my Goodreads a bit differently from everyone else–I only have books on there (for the most part, there are a couple of exceptions) that I’ve read or that I own. It keeps my TBR list manageable and keeps me from overdrawing my checking account on a weekly basis. 😀
    I also like to go and read popular books 1 star ratings after I’ve read the book (I made the mistake of reading them WHILE I read City of Bones and I won’t be reading any more Cassandra Clare books because of it) to see if I agree or just to giggle at them. I guess I’m weird.

  5. Oksana says:

    I think your way of using Goodreads is very wise, if by any means I manage to lessen my TBR list this year, I will probably follow your method.))

    • stuckinva says:

      My TBR list would be twice as long as my read list if i added every book I wanted to read to it, especially after reading everyone’s TTT book lists!

  6. Lucy says:

    How fun that you’re reading Bridget Jones Diary! I check out GR ratings too before reading books, though I agree that it’s important to keep an open mind. And I also need to edit my GR TBR- my interests have changed from when I first joined. #8 is a good one too – there’s too many books out there to waste time on one that’s not holding your interest.
    Good luck with all your goals!

  7. 2, 5, and 10 are my biggest problems ever! I swear, my TBR Pile is more than a hundred already. And most of them have good covers, since I always judge books by covers. Good luck!

    My Goals for 2013

  8. Krystianna says:

    I really want to read the Lord of the Rings books. I haven’t even read The Hobbit yet! I’ve heard seriously amazing things about the series though, so I may have to check it out. It seems like something that I’d really like. Good luck!

    Krystianna @ Downright Dystopian

  9. Oksana says:

    Thank you, Krystianna. I really think I have to read Tolkien, especially with all my friends, who are fans of these books, keep saying how awesome they are))

Leave a Reply

