Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Books I Resolve To Read In 2013

toptentuesday1Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week there’s a new topic within which you are to post your Top Ten List. This first Tuesday of 2013 the theme is:

Top Ten Books I Resolve To Read In 2013

6304335

1. Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia

I’m not sure I’ll even like this book. I’ve read the synopsis and it’s not that exciting. But I’ve seen the movie trailer and I thought that the general image was quite pretty. So I’ll definitely dig into the story before it hits the big screen.

227443

2. Bridget Jones’s Diary by Helen Fielding

I wanted to read this book for such a long time, but something always prevented me. Maybe this year I’ll finally make it. It’s one of those rare cases when I have watched the movie before the book and liked it. Hope the book is just as great.

897831

3. The Exorcist by William Peter Blatty

I just love scary movies, especially the old ones, and The Exorcist is the most influential and overwhelming one. It’s a classic, the type of suspense and horror which you can rarely see in modern horror movies. I’ve never read a horror book, though. Think this one will be a great start.

8667848

4. A Discovery of Witches Deborah Harkness

I love witches, I grew up watching Charmed. This book though is a more serious approach to the subject, and deals with all the different types of magical creatures. Count me interested!

13331184

5. Heads in Beds: A Reckless Memoir of Hotels, Hustles, and So-Called Hospitality by Jacob Tomsky

I worked at a hotel in my town for 3 years, and I can say that the hotel life is crazy and very alive. There’s so much happening in it, an outsider wouldn’t believe it. It’s a whole other world. When I learned about this book I immediately marked it as to-read. It will be fun to compare my experience and hotel routine to those described in the book.

13356690

6. Life of Pi by Yann Martel

It’s a book everyone seems to be talking about. I might read it some time this year to know just what the whole buzz is about.

13320466

7. The Twelve Tribes of Hattie by Ayana Mathis

It’s the newest Oprah’s Book Club 2.0 selection and the description seems very interesting. Also it’s a historical fiction and I’m trying to make myself read more books of this genre.

6690798

8. The Passage by Justin Cronin

A powerful book that everyone seems to have read already, except me. The plot seems to be great, mixing a lot of what I love in a book – adventure, fantasy and science fiction. Surely a  must-read!

12837725

9 Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

It’s a book with amazing plot and outstanding reviews. How I even managed not to have read it yet?

19063

10. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

Another historical fiction I just have to read this year. Besides, it too has been given amazing reviews, which assures me that I won’t regret reading it.

13 comments on “Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Books I Resolve To Read In 2013

  1. Marce says:

    The Book Thief has been on my list in the past sheeesh must read it.

  2. The Book Thief is incredible. Definitely recommend it. The rest I still need to read as well. Great picks! Happy New Years and happy reading!

    Here are the books I resolve to read

    ~Danica Page
    Taking it One Page at a Time

  3. Kelly says:

    I need to read Beautiful Creatures too, especially since the movie is coming out soon!
    And I have to read The Book Thief. I see that book EVERYWHERE.

    My TTT & check out my Most Anticipated 2013 Book Giveaway

  4. Lucy says:

    I hope you read Gone Girl this year…I couldn’t put it down! Discovery of Witches is good too, but such a long one that it’s a little intimidating. I’ve heard amazing things about The Book Thief and I think it was on my books I resolve to read list from 2011, sigh. Good luck with all your reading goals and happy new year!

    • Oksana says:

      Lucy, thanks for your recommendations, I have a huge TBR pile of books, but these 10 are those I just have to read this year, especially with them being so popular and well-received now. I actually don’t care about the length of the book as long as it’s entertaining and well written.

  5. We share growing up with Charmed! I love that series so much! I have Discovery of Witches on my TBR pile! I hope to read it soon (although it didn’t made my TTT).

    Happy 2013!
    My TTT

    • Oksana says:

      Charmed were amazing, they were the first to set my interest on all this fantasy world. I believe The Discovery Of Witches will be just as great.

  6. I hope you enjoy The Book Thief. It truly is one of the best books I’ve read :). I haven’t read Life of Pi yet, but I heard good things about the movie. I’m not sure if I’ll pick it up but I hope you like it! Great list :). Have a Happy New Year!

  7. Quinn says:

    I read Bridget Jones’s Diary after I saw the movie and I still found it to be thoroughly enjoyable. It is so funny. You will be laughing out loud. The second one is really funny too.

    I wasn’t in love with Beautiful Creatures, but I am glad that I read it. I think it is longer than it need to be. I do want to see the movie, though.

    Good luck on your reading resolutions. Happy New Year 🙂

  8. Oksana says:

    Have a happy New Year too, Quinn. Thanks for you comment, now I will definitely read Bridget Jones’s Diary, your description of it is really good and it’s been so long since I read something funny.

Leave a Reply

