Most favorite books read in 2012

The year is ending today, so I decide to make a wrap-up post about the books that made the greatest influence on me, those I loved the most. Below is the list of the 10 most favorite books I read in 2012, in no particular order, as they are equally amazing.

46670241845195012429135768666737578943641126497181360098716151255

1. The Help by Kathryn Stockett

When there’s a movie coming out, based on some book, and if the general idea appeals to me, I always read the book first. Just because it’s a general knowledge that a movie rarely does the book justice. In case of The Help I went another route. I watched the movie first, and I loved it a lot, it was so energetic and thoughtful. Then I read the book and I loved it even more. It’s amazing to read a historical fiction which is also fun and entertaining, despite it dealing with such an important social issue.

2. Into The Wild by John Krakauer

Yes, I’ve known for a long time that there was a movie directed by Sean Penn which was very well received by the public, but I never bothered to get into it or the book it was based on. Yet, this summer I was strongly recommended to read it by some new acquaintance, and I gave it a try. The fact that the book is based on true events was a major influence on me. I loved it, and to this day I still think about it, contemplating on Chris McCandless’ motives.

3. Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert

It’s a book that everyone should read. A great story about finding yourself and your place in the world.

4. The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson

I didn’t want to read this book at all, because I was sure I wouldn’t like it. But everyone around me was talking about it like crazy, and I couldn’t resist. And when I started reading it, I couldn’t put it down. I loved the suspense in this book, it’s unpredictability, it had everything to draw me in.

5. Delirium by Lauren Oliver

A great dystopian Young Adult story about a world where love is considered to be a disease. What can be more romantic then two main characters falling in love in this world and fighting for their happiness? The last installment of this series is one of my most anticipated in 2013.

6. Catch Me If You Can by Frank W. Abagnale

The movie based on this book has been one of my all time favorites for a long time. And this year I tried reading the book and I can say that it’s a rare case for me when both the book and the movie are equally great.

7. Water For Elephants by Sara Gruen

The movie was a total flop for me, while the book is so charming, I fell in love with it from the first pages. It was interesting to read about the circus life yet the characters were so alive, I cared for them a lot. Great romance in great setting.

8. Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

The most heartbreaking book I read this year. Jojo Moyes managed to write a wonderful story about a very complicated issue. And even though I generally don’t like sad endings, and I cried while reading it, this book is a miracle.

9. The Casual Vacancy by J.K Rowling

They say J.K. Rowling should only write books for kids. Well, I beg to differ, as her first book for adults was a great revelation to me. There’s no one to rival Rowling in creating the most believable characters and story lines.

10. The Edge Of Never by J.K. Redmerski

I read enough of Young Adults book, and most of them are very superficial. But this one has made a great impact on me, it’s romance, plot and ending left me both tearful and happy. Wish there were more books like this of this genre.

4 comments on “Most favorite books read in 2012

  1. Glad to see Delirium on the list! It’s one of my favorite books ever!

  2. Seyi sandra says:

    I love your taste in books, looking forward to seeing your best for 2013.
    Cheers-:)

Leave a Reply

